Welcome, SBIs!!!

Hello everyone, it’s been quite some time hasn’t it?

 

I hope you’ve all enjoyed your Thanksgiving! Fall semester has passed by pretty quickly, and wouldn’t you know it –  there are 1.5 weeks left until reading week (whoaaa). That also means that this post is quite late…forgive me 😥 I have been a bad, bad blogger…

__________

Anyways, this post isn’t really about us – it’s to congratulate our newest (but-not-so-new-anymore) members to SAO board! So please, join me in welcoming our lovely SBIs (SAO Board Interns) June, Jimmy, Dan, Bryan, and Matt!

SAO_SBIs

If you haven’t met them yet, by all means do (They’re all wonderful~). To get you started however, I asked each of them to provide a little bio – enjoy!

June

I enjoy food, sleep, and Modern Family. Sometimes I have deep thoughts about political issues within the Asian-American community and human relationships across cultural groups, but most of the time, I’m thinking about what Sharples will be serving for dinner today.

Jimmy

J is for the joy I share with you

I is for the intellectual discussions
G is for the great times we’ll have

M is for the many moments we’ll share

And E is for the everything that I thought SAO would be.

Dan

Hi! I’m Daniel Lai and am currently a SAO Board Intern for the Fall 2013 semester. I’m interested in continuing SAO’s vision of being an active socio-political organization on campus, while possibly extending our influence to areas like Philadelphia. I also am hoping to continue SAO’s strong social presence on campus and work on keeping it a safe space for Swatties to openly discuss their heritage. Outside of SAO, I’m interested in Engineering, CS, and Biology as potential majors and am also involved with the Frisbee team and the Outsiders Club.

If you have any questions or would just like to chat, I’d love to get to meet you so just drop me a line!

Bryan

I’m Bryan Lin and I’m SAO excited to be on board this year!  I love eating good food because who doesn’t love eating?  From the immortal words of Allison Gold, “I love fried rice, I love noodles, I love chow mein chow MO-MO-MO-MO mein!!” But I seriously do love Asian food and would choose rice over noodles any day.  I also enjoy playing board games such as Loaded Questions, Settlers and Taboo.  Besides SAO, I’m involved in Global Neighbors and Fencing.

Matt

Hey all, I’m Matthew Chen and I’m one of the SAO Board Interns for Fall 2013! My wish for SAO is for it to grow to encompass all ethnic groups to achieve solidarity in the APIA community here at Swarthmore.  My intended major is a combination of Engineering and Gender & Sexuality Studies, and I like to run, bike, and make maps in my free time. I also don’t bite so come find me and talk to me 🙂

__________

I have to say, this group has been a blast to work with – so much charisma, youth, and potential (and occasional lateness)! Almost reminds me of my younger self… :’) If you see one of these great freshmen out there, extend a hand out and send ’em a high five – they’ve been, are, and (I’m sure) will continue doing some great work!

Welp, that’s all the time we have today folks – I hope you had fun meeting the SBIs, cause I sure did. Thanks for joining me – have a great rest-of-break, and a wonderful rest-of-the-semester!!

Smell ya later~

Karl (SAO’s resident clingy ex-Co-Pub chair)

Leave a Reply

